Six Leeward Islands

The six Leeward Islands lie in two lines. The rain-forested peaks of a volcano chain include Montserrat, Nevis, and St. Kitts, and lie to the west. To the east are the volcanic ranges of Antigua, Barbuda, and Anguilla. These islands are known for their coral limestone and some of the nicest beaches in the Caribbean. The Leeward Islands were British colonies for many years, but today all but Montserrat and Anguilla are fully independent. The main source of economy for the Leeward Islands is tourism, and all have something special to offer. Because of their British history, the islanders are English speakers.

© 2015 Diverse Projects. Website designed by Studio Q